Chakra comes from the Sanskrit “cakra” meaning “wheel, circle”, and sometimes also referring to the “wheel of life”. The pronunciation of this word can be approximated in English by ‘chuhkruh’, with ch as in chart .The word derives from the Sanskrit word for “wheel” or “turning”, but in the yogic context a better translation of the word is “vortex” because it whirls.
Just as the physical body has ductless glands which govern the the organs of body by way of their fluids which they transmit, so the aura has the “glands” which control the energy flow to the various parts of the astral body. These “glands” are the chakras. There are seven major chakras and and many minor ones.
Chakras are circular and spin. Pouring in and out of the center of each wheel or chakra are streams of energy.
Chakras are divided into sections which make them look like the spokes of a spinning wheel. For this reason it is called a ‘chakra’. The chakra also resembles a flower and, for this reason, the ancient Hindus often called it a lotus. The flowing energy gives the appearance of petals. Some chakras have just a few petals. Others others have many.
The seven main chakras are aligned along an ascending column from the base of the spine to the top of the head.
Each chakra is associated with a certain color, energy, multiple specific functions, an aspect of consciousness, a classical element, and other distinguishing characteristics. Chakras are the meeting points of the subtle (non-physical) energy channels, called nadiis. The word nadi comes from thSanskrit root ‘nad’ meaning “channel” or “stream”. Nadiis are channels in the subtle body through which the life force (prana) flows, and connects the chakras. The main nadis include Shushumna, Ida and Pingala.

The Ida and Pingala nadis are often seen as referring to the two hemispheres of the brain. Pingala is the extroverted, solar nadi, and corresponds to the left hand side of the
brain. Ida is the introverted, lunar nadi, and refers to the right hand side of the brain.
The two nadis are stimulated through the practice of pranayama, which involves alternate breathing through left and right nostrils, which would alternately stimulate the left and right sides of the brain.The word nadi comes from the Sanskrit root nad meaning “channel”, “stream”, or “flow”.
The arrangement of the auric elements in the head is complex, reflecting the complexity of the aura at the base chara.

Yes, people do have halos! The halo is an energy field that spreads outward from the base of the third eye as it leaves the back of the head. It measures from 6 inches to a foot in diameter, and is is seen in colors from white to dark gold.

The question mark indicates a newly discovered astral connection between the mouth and the genitals – more prominent in women.
The chakras are thought to be emanations of consciousness from Brahman, an energy which comes down from the spiritual and gradually crudifies, creating these distinct levels of chakras, and which eventually finds its rest in the Muladhara chakra.

The energy that was unleashed in creation, called the Kundalini, lies coiled and sleeping, and it is the purpose of a tantric yogi to arouse this energy, and cause it to rise back up through the increasingly subtler chakras, until union with god is achieved in the Sahasrara chakra at the crown of the head.

Sahasrara is positioned above the head or at the top of it and it has 1000 petals which are arranged in 20 layers each of them with 50 petals. For a discussion about the petal count see also petal (chakra)Often referred as thousand-petaled lotus, it is said to be the most subtle chakra in the system, relating to pure consciousness, and it is from this chakra that all the other chakras emanate. When a yogi is able to raise his or her kundalini, energy of consciousness, up to this point, the state of samadhi, or union with god, is experienced.

Location: The Coccygeal Body
Color: Red Violet
Physical Qualities: This is not a separate chakra, but the lower end of the Crown Chakra. It is the seat of the Kundalini. From here three main nadis emerge: Ida, Pingala and Sushumna. iIt is the seat of the Kundalini. It rises up to the Crown Chakra to unite the female and masculine energies or shakti and shiva
Spiritual Qualities: It maintains the connection with the earth and controls the lower limbs.
Products to help balance this chakra: Quartz, Hematite
Location: The ovaries or the location of the testes before they descendedColor: Red
Physical Qualities: Controls the area just above the root chakra up to an inch or so above the naval. Manages the function of the urinary tract, sexual organs,
Spiritual Qualities: It represents the element earth, and is therefore related to sexuality, and creativity. Ideally this chakra brings us health, prosperity, security, and dynamic presence. Maintains the connection with the earth.
Products to help balance this chakra Carnelian, Malachite

Location: On the spine, behind the naval.
Color: Orange
Physical Qualities: Controls the abdomenal area, kidneys, and adrenal glands. Manages digestions and excretion of food, the small intestines and the colon
Spiritual Qualities: Promotes and regulates one’s relationships with the external physical world.
Products to help balance this chakra: Obsidian, Jasper

Location: 2 fingers below the center of the rib cage on the spine.
Color: Yellow
Physical Qualities: Controls the area located 2 fingers above the naval up to the bottom of the rib cage. Manages the assimulation of food, the liver, and the pancreas.
Spiritual Qualities: Controls a person’s relationship to others. The ability to connect, to belong, and to make long-term intimate associations. Promotes feelings of trust and contentment. Calmness.
Products to help balance this chakra: Citrine, Red Aventurine

Location: Directly behind the heart on the spine.
Color: Green
Physical Qualities: Controls the area from the bottom of the rib cage up to the collarbones. Manages the functions of the heart, the thymus gland and the immune system.
Spiritual Qualities: Regulates feelings of joy, pain, anger, and fear. Is the center of self love. The gateway to the soul. Promotes compassion and healing.
Products to help balance this chakra: Rose Quartz

Location: The carotid glands and the thyroid
Physical Qualities: Controls the area from the mid-point of the nose down to the collarbones. Manages the function of the larynx, thyroid, and hearing.
Spiritual Qualities: Represents the intellectual body, the ability of a person to express him/herself. The power of understanding. Detachment. Clarity. That place where internal worlds are real. Promotes personal integrity and transcends fear.
Products to help balance this chakra: Blue Agate

Location: On the forehead, between the eyebrows.
Color: Indigo
Physical Qualities: Controls the area between the eye brows and down below the eyes. Manages all higher mental activities, the optic nerves and the pituitary gland.
Spiritual Qualities: Is the eye of wisdom. Manages clarivoyance, telepathy, and healing through mental projections. The Seat of Divine Intelligence. Where consciousness and unconsciousness merge – where the ability to create physical realities from mental realities happens without delay.
Products to help balance this chakra: Sodalite

Location: At the top of the head or just above.
Color: Blue Violet
Physical Qualities: Controls the function of the pineal gland. It is the upper end of the central chakra
Spiritual Qualities: Represents the highest level of spiritual perfection. The merging of the personal energy field with the universal field. When open a person experiences the connection with the All That Is. .
Products to help balance this chakra: Amethyst



Leave a Reply